Dales Sports Surfaces

Thread: Vitalite bowls

Smile Vitalite bowls

I am new to bowling and bought a set of Vitalite bowls size 4 heavy and 3 bias, does any one know who made the the Vitalite bowls and what is a 3 bias or the modern equivalent on the bias chart. Are they suitable for out door bowling and are they legal in Scotland they are stamped for the year 2015 and they have a worlds bowls test certificate dated july 2006 would like to know.

Vitalite bowls were made by the Composition Billiard Ball Co. (no longer operating). I have a set which my father used many years ago and which I have also played with. Most present-day bowlers, I think, would consider that they swing a bit too much.

But they are legal.
    Up and lobbing them ....

Ah memories. Started off with Vitalite (previous owner A.O.Blair). Agree they are big swingers which seem to be in a minority these days.

Quote Originally Posted by cassius
    Ah memories. Started off with Vitalite (previous owner A.O.Blair). Agree they are big swingers which seem to be in a minority these days.
    Who
    Up and lobbing them ....

Quote Originally Posted by CTM
    Who
    Some folk can play this game with anything!

Quote Originally Posted by The Basset
    I am new to bowling and bought a set of Vitalite bowls size 4 heavy and 3 bias, does any one know who made the the Vitalite bowls and what is a 3 bias or the modern equivalent on the bias chart. Are they suitable for out door bowling and are they legal in Scotland they are stamped for the year 2015 and they have a worlds bowls test certificate dated july 2006 would like to know.
    I also have a set of "Townsend Clarke" 3 bias size 5 Vitalite bowls and was intrigued by manufacturer label and material, so with some difficultly, I researched and found the following information-